Attend the Mississippi Alcohol Education Program (MASEP)
Upon being convicted of a DUI first offense, the Mississippi Department of Public Safety will suspend your driver's license indefinitely. However, the sentencing court will order the offender to attend the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP) and upon successful completion, the license suspension period will be reduced to 90 days. MASEP meets once a week for four consecutive weeks and cost the attendee $150. At the conclusion of the final class, the attendee will receive a certificate of completion which is required to reinstate the offender's license.
Receive Suspension Letter from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety will automatically generate, upon notice from the court of a conviction, a notice informing you when you license will go into suspension. This notice is important because it will give you the exact date when your license goes into suspension. You are not eligible for a hardship license until you driving privileges have been suspended for 30 days.
Get a copy of your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)
You will need to obtain a copy of you current motor vehicle report (MVR) to attach to the petition for hardship license. This will allow the court to review your driving record and determine if you are eligible for a reduction. This may be obtained either by visiting your local highway patrol office or it can be printed online from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety website.
Obtain documentation showing basis for hardship.
You will need to get documentation establishing why you are eligible for a hardship license. The three bases which allow you to obtain a hardship license are: 1) continuing employment, 2) continuing education, or 3) obtaining necessary medical treatment. This documentation can be a letter on appropriate letterhead from the employer, educational facility, or doctor indicating you are actively involved in one of these areas and you need a valid license to meet their obligations.
Obtain SR-22 Insurance Form
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will need to obtain a SR-22 insurance form showing you are in compliance with the state's minimum requirements for auto insurance. SR-22 is a motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to the Department of Public Safety, and the insurance company must notify the department any time the policy is canceled, terminated or lapses.
File a Petition for Hardship License
You may file a petition for a hardship license in the county in which you were convicted or in the county of your residence. At any time following at least 30 days of suspension for a first offense violation, the court may grant the person hardship driving privileges if it finds reasonable cause to believe that revocation would hinder the person's ability to: 1) Continue his employment; 2) Continue attending school or an educational institution; or 3) Obtain necessary medical care. Proof of the hardship shall be established by clear and convincing evidence which shall be supported by independent documentation. A reduction of suspension on the basis of hardship shall not be available to any person who refused to submit to a chemical test upon the request of a law enforcement officer. In addition to the filing fee, there is an additional $50.00 fee which is deposited into the State's General Fund.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.