As required by Michigan law, properties considered abandoned and unclaimed by the bank or company entrusted with them, are turned over to the state, The Michigan Department of Treasury serves as the custodian of these assets and returns them to their owners (or the owners' heirs) when they are rightfully claimed.
In Michigan, property unclaimed by an owner after five years is presumed abandoned and is turned over to the state. This time limit may vary depending on the specific type of property. The owner then has the burden of discovering the property and satisfying the state regarding ownership to recover the property.
How do I find out if Michigan is holding any of my money or property?
What do I do if I find that Michigan is holding some of my property?
If your search turns up a claimant's name, you can follow the link to an initial inquiry form. The Treasurer is required to consider the claim within 90 days after it is filed.
If you are not satisfied with the decision of the Treasurer or if your claim was not dealt with within 90 days, you have 90 days after the decision of the Treasurer or 180 days after filing the claim to institute suit in the circuit court to establish your claim against the Treasurer.
Additional resources provided by the author
To find out if other states may be holding your unclaimed property, you can search the national database established by the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators (NAUPA) at
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.