How to Avoid a DUI Conviction in Palm Beach County, Florida
How to Pick A DUI AttorneyWhen speaking to a potential lawyer don't be afraid to ask questions. The best lawyers will welcome your questions. A good lawyer would rather represent a truly prepared client, a client who is committed to getting the best legal representation. Here are 10 questions you should ask and demand straight answers to in order to make an informed choice of who will represent you.
10 Questions to Ask a DUI Lawyer1. How many years have you been in practice?
2. How much experience do you have representing persons who are charged with dui?
3. Who in the office will actually be handling the case and what are their qualifications?
4. What are your ratings in the 2 national lawyer ratings services?
5. Are you a former prosecutor or public defender and, if so, where?
6. How many cases have you taken to jury trial?
7. What are all the potential legal costs, including investigators, and experts?
8. Have you ever been disciplined?
9. Are you a member of the National College for DUI Defense?
10. What will be the final outcome?
Avoiding a DUI ConvictionThe Florida legislature has established the mandatory minimum punishment that a judge must impose on someone who is convicted of DUI. The penalties are harsh. The minimum penalties include: DL suspension, a minimum of 6 months probation, 50 hours of community service, fines, DUI School, 10-day vehicle immobilization. But the worst DUI penalty of all is getting convicted. A DUI conviction is permanent and will stay on your criminal history record for life. That means that anyone doing a background investigation will be able find out that you have a criminal conviction for DUI on your record. Practically every application you fill out asks if you have ever been convicted of a crime. It's of no use to lie about it. Attempting to conceal the truth about it will only make matters worse. Criminal history records are public records. The DUI conviction will eventually be discovered. That means that you need to get help from a lawyer who knows how you can avoid getting a DUI conviction.
Palm Beach County 1st Time DUI Offender ProgramIf you have been arrested for DUI, you may be eligible for the Palm Beach County 1st Time DUI Offender Program. Upon entering the program, the DUI charge will be dropped and you will enter a Guilty plea to Reckless Driving, a second degree misdemeanor. The best part of the Palm Beach DUI Diversion Program is that you will avoid the stigma associated with having a DUI conviction on your criminal history record. After the program is completed we can help you can apply to have the record of being arrested for DUI and pleading guilty to Reckless Driving sealed and expunged from your criminal history record.