One of the most common forms of multitasking is texting while performing other tasks or activities. However, texting and driving are two incompatible activities that can lead to a serious accident. A 2009 Virginia Tech Transportation Institute study of larger vehicles and trucks found that texting made the risk of a car accident 23 times higher. If you have been injured by a driver who was texting or otherwise negligent, seek help from a ** Denver car accident attorney**. You may be entitled to compensation through a personal injury claim.
Text Messaging and Driving Are Not Compatible
Multitasking works best when performing activities that use different sensory functions. For example, holding a conversation while riding a stationary bike could be harmless.
However, texting and driving involve the use of the same sensory receptor. Your eyes can only be in one place at one time—either on your message or on the road. Studies have found that a texting driver takes his or her eyes off the road for 4.6 seconds, long enough to cause a car accident.
Texting While Driving is Illegal in Colorado
Colorado is one of many states that have made texting while driving illegal for all drivers, except in emergencies where there is a life or safety issue involved. If you are texting while driving, a law enforcement officer can pull you over for this reason alone. A first time offender who is convicted will pay a $50.00 fine plus a $6.00 surcharge, while a second and subsequent offender will pay a $100.00 fine plus a $6.00 surcharge.
While Colorado’s zero tolerance law on texting and driving became effective on December 1, 2009, some drivers continue to text and drive, increasing the risk of serious injuries to others on Denver’s roads. This leads to the filing of many personal injury claims.
Contacting a Denver Car Accident Attorney
If you or your loved ones have been seriously injured or killed in a car accident because of the inattention of a texting driver in Denver, D.J. Banovitz Personal Injury Law can help. If you would like to learn more about personal injury claims in Denver, order our FREE book: 7 Costly Mistakes that Can Ruin Your Colorado Injury Case. Call us at 303-300-5060 or fill out our online contact form for a free, no pressure, no-obligation consultation to get honest, compassionate answers to your questions.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.