How Long Do I Have To Report A Workers' Compensation Claim in Georgia?
Under O.C.G.A. 34-9-80, an employee generally has 30 days from the date of injury to notify his supervisor that they have sustained a workers' compensation injury. There are several exceptions to this rule, and the 30 day time limit does not always bar a case. Notice also does not necessarily have to be written; rather, simply telling your supervisor that you have sustained a work-related injury will be sufficient to preserve your rights under the Georgia Workers' Compensation Act. Additionally, in some cases, an employee does not have to necessarily state that it is a workers' compensation claim. Georgia Courts have been extremely liberal in deciding notice defense cases. If you are considering filing for workers' compensation benefits, I recommend that you notify your supervisor in writing and make a copy of the writing prior to turning it in. Save the copy for your records, and contact an experienced Georgia workers' compensation attorney to discuss your case as soon as possible. The Georgia Workers' Compensation Act is full of other time limitations and defenses the workers' compensation insurance company may bring. Pursuing workers' compensation benefits on your own leaves you susceptible to the insurance industry's tactics and defenses. Having an experience workers' compensation attorney on your side is critical to making sure your rights are protected and justice is served. Time is of the essence. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding reporting your workers' compensation case. The call is always free and confidential.