How long do I have to file a discrimination or harassment claim in Louisiana?
Gives basic time deadlines for filing harassment and discrimination claims in Louisiana.
Federal Law in LouisianaHow much time do I have to file a Harassment or Discrimination claim? The basic rule under federal law is you have 180 days from the act of discrimination. However in certain states including Louisiana you have 300 days. After the EEOC processes the claim they issue a Right to Sue letter. You have to receive a Right to Sue letter before you can file suit under Federal law. Unfortunately the EEOC is understaffed and over worked. They are spending a great deal of time screening charges filed by people that don't understand the law and do not realize the EEOC can't even help them. It's even gotten to the point they are considering fining people that file a baseless EEOC charge. To make things more complicated if you are going to just file under state law there's a whole different set of rules, and deciding to proceed under Federal or State law is a very complicated decision. If you think you have a discrimination or harassment claim don't wait; and make sure you choose a law firm that is experienced in doing employment law claims.
Filing time limits for harassment claims under Louisiana lawThis is very complicated. The general rule of thumb is you have one year. However you can in certain circumstances involving a Federal EEOC filing obtain an additional 6 months. However in either event you must file a proper and timely notice letter first. The interplay between State Law and Federal law and the different timeliness and deadlines that apply and interrelate can be very tricky. You should seek out the consul of an experienced Louisiana employment law attorney and should never try to handle such matters on your own.