How to calculate child support in Texas
Each state has a different method for calculating the amount a parent is supposed to pay in child support. Texas evaluates a parent's income and uses the Texas Attorney General Tax Charts to determine support payments.
Determine the parent's yearly gross incomeThe gross income is before taxes. This figure can be taken from their tax return, W2 or through a mathematical calculation. For instance if they are paid weekly then you would multiply their gross weekly pay by 52. If they are paid bi-weekly you would multiply by 26.
Johnny Paycheck is paid every other Friday (bi-weekly) and his check is $1,000 gross (before taxes). That equates to $26,000 per year.
Divide the gross yearly income to a monthly figureTake the yearly figure you just calculated and divide by 12, giving you a gross monthly figure.
Johnny Paycheck's gross monthly income is $2166.67.
Apply the monthly figure to the Texas Attorney General Tax Charts to get a net figureBy applying the gross monthly figure to the Texas Attorney General tax chart (link below) you will get a net monthly figure.
Johnny Paycheck's net monthly income using the Attorney General Chart is approximately $1,776.
Multiply this number by the child support percentage in TexasThe percentage is as follows:
+ 20% for one child
+ 25% for two children
+ 30% for three children
There are variances to this which are too detailed for this post, but a family law attorney can better explain the percentage for specific situations.
Johnny Paycheck's child support for his one child would be $355.20.