Hit and Run in Virginia
Failing to report a car accident in Virginia is a crime, and is also known as a Hit and Run. It can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony and can have serious consequences. This legal guide discusses what the Commonwealth must prove in order to convict a driver of a Hit and Run in Virginia.
Physical Contact with Vehicle, Person, or ObjectTo convict a driver of a Hit and Run in Virginia, the Commonwealth must prove that the driver's vehicle made physical contact with another vehicle, person, or object. The Commonwealth must also prove that the driver knew or should have known that contact was made.
Property Damage, Injury, DeathThe contact must also have caused property damage, injury, or death. The Commonwealth must also prove that the driver knew or should have known that the contact caused property damage or injured or killed someone. A Hit and Run resulting in less than $1,000 worth of property damage is charged as a misdemeanor, and a Hit and Run resulting in more than $1,000 worth of damage is a felony.
Failure to ReportAny driver involved in a car accident in Virginia has a duty to report the accident, no matter who was at fault for causing the accident. The driver must report his name, address, driver's license number, and vehicle registration information. He must stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible and provide this information to either the driver or other occupant of the other vehicle, the person hit by his vehicle, the custodian of the property damaged, or the police.
If the accident involved unoccupied property, the driver must make an attempt to locate the property owner and report the required information mentioned above. If the driver cannot locate the property owner, he must leave a note in a conspicuous place at the scene of the accident with this information as well as the date, time, location of the accident, and description of the damage, and report the accident to the police within 24 hours.
Rendering AssistanceA driver has a duty to render "reasonable assistance" to anyone injured as a result of a car accident in which he was involved if it appears that the person requires assistance or requests such assistance.
Additional resources provided by the author
- Hit and Run Charge in Virginia
- Virginia Hit and Run Charges Involving Property Damage
- Virginia Hit and Run Charge Involving Unattended Property
- Virginia Hit and Run Charge Involving Attended Property
- Virginia Hit and Run Charge Involving Injury or Death
- Passengers Involved in a Virginia Hit and Run
- Hit and Run Accident Penalties in Virginia
- Failure to Report an Accident in Virginia
- Penalties for Failure to Report an Accident in Virginia
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Virginia
- Is a Hit and Run a Felony in Virginia?
- Misdemeanor Hit and Run in Virginia
- Felony Hit and Run in Virginia
- Difference Between Misdemeanor and Felony Hit and Run in Virginia
- Hit and Run Penalties in Virginia