Hit & Run charges are very serious in Arizona. Failing to stop immediately after hitting another car or pedestrian can result in very serious consequences.
Hit and Run Penalties in Arizona
In Arizona, you can be charged with Hit & Run or Leaving the Scene of an accident pursuant to A.R.S. 28-661, 28-662, 28-663, 28-664, and/or 28-665 if you were involved in an accident and did not stop your vehicle immediately at the scene or in close proximity to the scene. When a person leaves the scene of an accident and fails to exchange information in a timely manner, the person can be considered in violation of the hit and run laws. In the State of Arizona, people are required to stop immediately after an accident and immediately exchange information among all parties involved in the accident. If the vehicle is unoccupied, the person is still obligated to reach out to the owner of the vehicle and provide contact information if involved in a collision.
How serious is a Hit and Run in Arizona?
This type of accident is considered a serious felony if there is an injury or death resulting from the accident. Being convicted of this class two felony can result in your license being revoked for up to five years in total if you are found to be at fault. Additionally, you can end up serving anywhere from one to 12 years in prison. If you have prior convictions, then you can serve up to 35 years in prison if you were found to be the cause of the accident. If you are not at fault for the accident, then the case can be treated as a class three felony, which results in the license being revoked for up to five years. Penalties in cases where you are not at fault can result in up to 9 years in prison. If you have a history of convictions, then you can be required to serve up to 25 years in prison. If you have been involved in a hit and run accident with no injuries, your case can be treated as a class five felony. A class five felony carries a punishment of probation for up to three year. You can be required to serve a prison term of up to two and one half years. You can also face fines and lose your driving privileges for three years. If involved in an accident where only damage was caused to the other vehicle, you can be charged with a class two misdemeanor, which carries six months in jail and probation. Your license can be suspended for one year. If you have been suspected of Hit & Run in Arizona, it is very important that you contact an experienced lawyer to help you prepare an aggressive defense. Arizona has very strict vehicular laws regarding hit and run and leaving the scene of an accident with most cases requiring mandatory jail time.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.