After an accident where you sustain serious injuries, you should contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Consultations are always free [call another lawyer if anyone attempts to charge you]. Explain the facts of your case; have the police report, doctor's diagnostic reports, and hospital information ready when you call. At the conclusion of your discussion, the lawyer would tell you whether he would take the case. Unfortunately, lawyers won't just take any case.
 If no one will take your case -- Look towards your own auto insurance policy
A little know fact is that if you have your own automobile insurance, it should protect you against hit-and-run accidents. [I say "should" instead of "would" because though the insurance company "should" be on your side, if they could get out of having to paying your claims, they would and will disclaim you. Remember, in accident contexts, they should be treated as your adversary.] Call your insurance company and report the claim as soon as possible. Generally speaking, you have 30 days from the day of the accident to make a claim in order to get medical benefits.
 If you don't have auto insurance -- Look towards your household family members' auto insurance policy
Another little known fact is that the protection mentioned above, also applies to the family members who live in the same household.
Sometimes people can be squeamish when it comes to making a claim against their insurance policy [even when it's family members], but there's no reason to be concerned. They usually ask, "Will it raise my premiums?" Odds are a person's premiums are increasing each installment, anyways. Premiums should be increased if they are a bad driver -- since the car in question wasn't even involved in the accident (meaning there's no way they could be blamed for liability), this isn't a reason to increase their premiums. Even if premiums suddenly increase, shop around for another carrier. Insurance companies are always competing against each other to acquire a larger market share.
[4a] If your household family members don't have insurance -- Look towards the government
Under NY's law, the "Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation" (otherwise known as MVAIC) provides compensation for innocent victims of certain types of accidents caused by uninsured or otherwise financially irresponsible motorists.
In order to be eligible the victim must:  be a resident of New York State or a resident of another state or country having a substantially similar program available to New York State residents injured in that state or country;  have no auto insurance;  does not live with any family members who have auto insurance;  be physically touched by the hit and run vehicle;  reported the incident to the proper authorities WITHIN 24 HOURS of the accident; and  not be the operator or passenger of a motorcycle.
[4b] MVAIC - Report your claim ASAP
Report your claim to MVAIC, located at 110 William Street, New York, New York 10038, and file a sworn statement setting forth the facts in support of your claim. You can get the forms from MVAIC. This must be done WITHIN 90 DAYS of the accident.
The maximum amount of compensation recoverable per person is $25,000 and $50,000 for each accident. If the victim died the applicable coverage is increased to $50,000/100,000 plus a death benefit payment of $2,000 [though I would highly recommend a lawyer under these unfortunate circumstances]. Furthermore, MVAIC will pay you up to $50,000 for medical bills and other related expenses [like transportation to and from medical providers, as well as for loss of earnings].
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.