Skip to main content

Getting a Marriage License in Fairfax, Virginia

Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court. There are no residency requirements to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. A couple may go to any circuit court in Virginia to obtain this license.

Once the license is issued, there is no waiting period and no blood test is required. The marriage license is valid for 60 calendar days and the marriage must take place in Virginia.

Location: The Fairfax County Courthouse at 4110 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, Virginia on the first floor in Suite 116.

Cost: The fee is $30.00 payable by cash or credit card (Visa or MasterCard only with a 4% processing fee).

Special Requirements:

Both parties must appear before the Clerk to obtain a license and must be 18 years of age or older (proof of age is required with either a valid driver's license with picture, passport or military identification). If a party is 16 or 17 years of age a parent must appear with identification.

The Clerk's Office will provide a special affidavit for the parent's signature.

Phone: If you have any questions, please contact the Fairfax Circuit Court Clerk's Office at 703-691-7320, press 3, 6, 1.

See http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/marriage\_license\_info.htm

Rate this guide


Recommended articles about Family law

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer