Skip to main content

Georgia Workers' Compensation Travel Expense Reimbursement

Under Georgia Workers' Compensation law you are entitled to be reimbursed for your travel expenses when you go to the doctor. Rule 203 allows an injured employed to be reimbursed by the insurance company at the rate of 40 cents per mile. Therefore, if you drive a 1,000 miles to and from your doctor over the course of a year, you would be entitled to a travel reimbursement of $ 400.

You can claim a reimbursement for any travel to your doctor, physical therapy, medical testing, hospital visit or pharmacy. If you travel beyond your home city to receive medical treatment then travel expenses shall include the actual costs of meals and lodging.

Please note, travel mileage reimbursement must be claimed within 1 year.

Additional resources provided by the author

Georgia Workers' Compensation Rule 203
O.C.G.A. Sec. 34-9-203

Rate this guide


Recommended articles about Employment

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer