This Legal Guide provides information concerning the types of income benefits Georgia workers may be entitled to if they are injured on the job.
If you are hurt at work, you may be entitled to receive income benefits. Under Georgia law, there are 3 different types of income benefits:
A) Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD)
If a doctor removes you from work completely, or if your employer is unable to accommodate your light duty work restrictions, then you may be entitled to TTD benefits. Workers entitled to TTD benefits receive two-thirds of their average weekly wage up to a maximum of $575/week and you can receive these benefits for up to 400 weeks from the date of the accident.
B) Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD)
If you return to work following your accident and are earning less money than you were prior to your workplace accident, then you may be entitled to TPD benefits. Workers entitled to TPD benefits receive two-thirds of the difference between what they were earning prior to the accident and what they are receiving after the accident. An injured worker can receive these benefits for up to 350 weeks from the date of their accident.
C) Permanent Partial Disability Benefits (PPD)
In the event that your authorized treating physician assigns you what is known as an "impairment rating," then you could be entitled to TPD benefits. These TPD benefits can be paid out in one lump sum payment, or on a weekly basis. The amount of TPD benefits that you will receive will depend upon the impairment rating assigned and to which body part it is assigned.
The main goal of the workers' compensation system in Georgia is to provide injured workers with the medical treatment needed in order to allow them to return to work. In the event that your claim is accepted as compensable, the insurance company will be required to provide you with all medical treatment that your authorized treating physician deems to be reasonable and necessary to help you recover from your accident. Under Georgia law, injured workers are entitled to medical treatment for up to 400 weeks following the date of the accident. As long as the medical treatment is approved by an authorized treating physician, the insurance company is required to pay for your medical treatment and you will not have to come out of pocket for medical treatment
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.