Georgia's Hands Free Law Goes into Effect July 2018
Effective July 1, 2018, pursuant to Georgia law, all drivers operating a motor vehicle on any highway in the State of Georgia are prohibited from holding a wireless communication device or stand alone electronic device while operating a motor vehicle.
What are wireless communication devices or stand alone electronic devices? Can I still make calls?Wireless Communication Devices can include a cell phone (yes even the old school flip phone); smart phone, and walkie talkie.
Electronic device can include: iPod or other music player.
The question then is, "Can I still make calls and receive or send texts?"
The answer is yes, but you must do so using hands free technology. Most phones and vehicles have bluetooth capability which allows you to make and receive phone calls. Some even have the capability of sending and receiving text message.
If you have a smart watch you can receive and talk through your device and this would not be a violation.
SMART WATCHES ARE OK TO USE WHILE DRIVING.
What are the penalties? Why was this law passed?1st conviction * 1 point and $50.00 fine
2nd conviction * 2 points and $100.00 fine
3rd or more convictions * 3 points and $150.00 fine
Distracted driving is not an issue in Georgia but also is a problem nationwide. Each day thousands of people are placed at risk by those utilizing devices which turn their eyes and attention and concentration away from the road. The operation of a motor vehicle is an inherently dangerous act and requires our full attention.