FOUR THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS
The tricky thing about driving laws and traffic violations is that they’re determined by each state’s legislature — not by the federal government — so it’s actually pretty easy to break the law without knowing it if you’re driving in a state other than the one in which you got your driver’s license.
FOUR THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS1. You'll lose your driver's license right after you're arrested -- even before you receive a conviction. If you end up showing that you're not guilty of DUI, you'll have to schedule a DMV administrative hearing in order to get your license back.
FOUR THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS2. There is something called a "Wet Reckless" charge California, which is a plea deal where the driver receives a reckless driving charge and admits that alcohol was involved in the situation as well. This is bit different from the normal DUI charge -- the penalties are less severe, there's no mandatory jail time, and the probationary period is shorter than a regular DUI charge. Nevertheless, many DUI defense attorneys are very careful about advising clients to make this plea, since it's an automatic admission of guilt.
FOUR THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS3. Substance abuse classes are mandatory when you're convicted of alcohol- or drug-related traffic violations -- and not only will you have to pay basic fines, but you'll probably have to pay for these classes, too. Even first-time DUI offenders are required to enroll in substance abuse classes, which are usually around 30 hours of class time; repeat offenders are often subject to 60 hours of substance abuse education.
FOUR THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CALIFORNIA DUI LAWS4. And finally, as is the case in many states, a DUI charge in California becomes available as a public record; legal firms and bail bond companies can easily find out your address and can contact you. Additionally, DUI convictions and other serious traffic violations are often taken into consideration by employers, landlords, and anyone else who performs a background check on you -- and these people are permitted to refuse housing or employment to you because of your criminal record.
So always remember, when you're driving in a new state, make sure to do some research on that state's particular traffic laws -- and if you end up with a ticket, whether it's for a misdemeanor or felony charge, make sure to seek legal help as soon as possible.