Florida Statute of Limitations in Automobile Accident Cases - Time Limit to File Your Lawsuit
Florida law provides that negligence cases enjoy a 4-year statute of limitationStatutes of limitations are a bar to claims which have been dormant and not enforced by the persons entitled to do so. The rationale is that the law doesn't want us to "sleep on our rights." In general a statute of limitations begins to run when there has been a notice of an invasion of a legal right or a person has been put on notice of his right to a cause of action. If a lawsuit is not filed in the proper jurisdiction within the statute time period, the case is barred.
If your claim is for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage under an automobile insurance policy, then the statute of limitations is 5 years, not 4If your claim is for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage under an automobile policy, even though it stems from an automobile accident, the statute time period is 5 years, not 4. This is considered a lawsuit based in contract, not negligence.