Florida's Overtime Laws
This guide will explain the overtime laws that apply to employees in Florida.
Over 40 hours in a weekIn Florida, employees are entitled to overtime pay when they work more than 40 hours in a single week. If you work more than 40 hours in a consecutive 7 day period, you may be entitled to overtime.
Exempt vs Non-exemptExempt employees are not entitled to overtime. Exempt employees are those who receive a salary of at least $23,660 AND are supervisors or decision makers. These individuals have the power to hire, fire, set schedules, and may even have a company credit card. They likely have an office and an assistant, as well.
Non-exempt employees are those who do not have the ability to hire, fire, or set schedules. These individuals are hard workers but are not managers or supervisors. Non-exempt employees are eligible for overtime.
Time and one halfNon-exempt employees who work overtime are entitled to receive time and one half. This is also known as 1.5 times their hourly rate. For example, if an employee earns $8.05 per hour, they must receive $12.075 for all overtime hours. Employers cannot pay less and employees cannot agree to receive less.
So what now?If you feel that you have worked overtime and were not paid, contact my office. As you know, we are ready and willing to fight for you!