Florida Financial Responsibility Law
The LawThe Florida Automobile Financial Responsibility Law requires that an owner and/or operator of an automobile involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must have in effect at the time of the accident liability insurance coverage. This coverage includes minimum limits of bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person $20,000 per accident, $10,000 property damage liability per accident, and personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person. Failure to carry the required minimum levels of financial responsibility at the time of an accident can result in suspension of the driver's license. The requirement to demonstrate financial responsibility is not based on fault. All parties involved in an accident must show the necessary proof or face the penalties imposed by the law. Maintaining an automobile insurance policy is the most common way to comply with the financial responsibility law.
What To Do?If you are involved in an accident always insist that the accident be reported to the police, so an accident report can be prepared. Make sure the investing officer obtains the insurance information from the at-fault driver. If you do not obtain an accident report the Bureau of Financial Responsibility will be unable to assist you or your attorney in obtaining insurance information regarding the at fault driver.
The Florida Bureau of Financial Responsibility is charged with compiling data regarding accident reports and insurance information. If you have been involved in an accident and desire the insurance coverage for the other party, you may obtain that information by mailing your request to:
Bureau of Financial Responsibility
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Rm. A212, MS-98
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0585.
You must include a copy of the accident report or the driver exchange form. These forms will provide the Bureau with the necessary information needed to complete your request.