First Offense DWI in Minnesota: What can happend to you?
A DWI or DUI conviction is costly and could haunt you for many years to come. Your vehicle insurance rates may triple. Minnesota charges more than $700 for driver's license reinstatement. Your driver's license revocation could stay on your driving record permanently, even if you are found not guilty of the charges. This can be used against you by police, prosecutors and even insurance companies.
If you are facing your first DWI offense, these consequences probably seem very confusing, frightening and uncertain. A skilled criminal defense attorney provides the legal help you need and deserve at this time and can build the strongest defense possible on your behalf, calm your worries and minimize the penalties. Talk to a Minneapolis DWI first offense attorney today to get started on your defense.
Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Defense
Even if this is your first offense, if your alcohol content (BAC) is .20 or above, OR if you refuse testing, OR if you have kids under 16 in the car, you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor. A skilled criminald defense attorney can argue your case down to a misdemeanor level. A misdemeanor means much lower maximum jail time, fines and probation comapred with a gross misdemeanor. Also, if you test .16 or more, even as a first-offender, you will have your license plates taken away AND you will face a one-year revocation of your driver's license OR One Year on the Ignition Interlock device which prevents you from driving your vehicle if you have been drinking.
A skilled criminal defense attorney like me, Max A. Keller, has successfully fought to prove innocence, procedural error, lack of evidence and other factors resulting in reduced charges or dismissed charges for many Minnesotans charged with a DWI/DUI. We have more than 14 years of experience protecting our clients' rights and helping them avoid first DWI penalties such as:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $3,000 in fines
- Fees for county surcharges and law library fees
- Up to one year of driver's license revocation
- Up to six years of probation
- Yearly probation fees
- Alcohol education class
- Sentenced to service work or community service
- Ignition Interlock at $100 per month, costing $1200 per year
Additionally, a agressive criminal defense attorney can get your driver's license reinstated while your case is pending in Ramsey County or Hennepin County, helping you avoid job loss and license revocation.