Most states have a zero tolerance approach for drinking and alcohol while driving. In California, Vehicle Code (VC) Section 23136 applies when you are under 21 and you drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .01% or greater.
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .01% or Greater
Keep in mind that alcoholic beverage is not the only thing that can tip you over the BAC of .01%--some medications/medicines contact alcohol and can subject you to this violation. BAC is generally measured by a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test usually conducted on the side of the road.
If your BAC level is .01% or greater and you are under 21 years of age, the penalty is a one-year suspension of your driver's license. If your BAC level is 0.5%, the penalty is a one-year suspension, a fine, and if you are 18 years of age or over, a mandatory alcohol education program of three months or longer.
You have a right to challenge the suspension through a DMV hearing.
You have a right to challenge the suspension through a DMV hearing. If your license is suspended, there are also ways to obtain a "restricted driver's license" which would allow you to drive but under certain conditions.
Regardless of your age, you may be charged with the standard DUI if your driving ability is impaired due to alcohol, drugs or both and you drive with a BAC level of .08% or higher.
The law in California under VC 23224
The law in California under VC 23224 is that individuals under 21 years old may not carry alcohol inside a vehicle unless: the container is full, sealed, and unopened AND accompanied by a parent or other specified adult. Other allowable acts would be if the under 21 year old person was getting rid of the alcohol because their parent or such an adult told them to or carrying it as part of their job for someone who has a valid liquor license.
Violation of VC 23224 is a misdemeanor and can result in the car you were driving to be impounded for up to 30 days, a fine of up to $1000 and a one-year suspension of driver's license.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.