Drunk Driving Accidents in Massachusetts
If you were responsible for an alcohol-related collision in the Boston area – you are facing serious penalties. Drinking and driving has received mass amounts of attention from law enforcement agencies, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, driver education courses and the media. Simply put, without an aggressive attorney, you won’t receive much sympathy from the authorities. However, as in any criminal case, a person is considered innocent until proven guilty. It will be up to your lawyer to find any mitigating circumstances that might help your case.
Just because you were in a collision after you had a few drinks does not necessarily mean that you caused the accident. Sometimes police officers are too quick to pin the blame on a driver because they had a couple of drinks earlier in the day or evening. In fact, it is entirely possible that the other driver was at fault. At times like these, you have to enlist the services of an experienced DUI defense attorney who has a thorough knowledge of OUI laws and penalties.
Certainly being arrested for a criminal offense is extremely nerve-wracking for anyone. When you factor in elements such as DUI charges and a traffic accident – it gets much worse. What types of penalties are associated with a DUI accident?
In the state of Massachusetts, if you are involved in an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol there are a number of penalties that you potentially face. They can include imprisonment, fines exceeding $1,000, driver’s license suspension or revocation, probation, community service, victim restitution, mandatory DUI School and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device.
The above penalties apply to a DUI accident involving property damage. If you caused a drunk driving accident that caused bodily injury or death, you can be assured that you will be facing more serious penalties.
In the case of OUI serious bodily injury – you could face incarceration in state prison for a minimum of 2.5 years, but not more than 10 years. Furthermore, your driving privileges will be forfeited for two years following a first-time conviction.
OUI motor vehicle homicide is the most serious type of alcohol-related charge. It could involve a minimum state prison sentence ranging from 2.5 years to more than 15 years. If the case remained in the district court – the punishment can be no less than one year in the house of correction or any more than 2.5 years.
Drunk driving accidents are extremely serious. When you are the one who caused a drunk driving accident; you have no other choice but to contact an experienced DUI attorney. It might seem like the right thing to do to would be to own up and take the blame – but you couldn’t be more wrong! A skilled Boston DUI lawyer will be able to employ proven defense tactics that can make all the difference in the outcome of your case!