The divorce process is initiated by filing a Summons and Petition for the Dissolution of Marriage with the Family Court. If you have children under 18, a Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act must also be filed. Local courts may also have their own required forms as well. Orange County requires the filing of a Family Law Notice Regarding Related Cases. The filing fee in Orange County is $435.
Once filed, the papers must be served on your spouse. Your divorce case then begins.
What are the residency requirements that have to be met in order to file?
In order to file for divorce, you must first meet California state and local residency requirements. You must have lived in California for at least 6 months and also lived in the county where you plan to file for at least 3 months.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.