Determining When You are Eligible for a "Work Permit" after a First or Second DUI Conviction in GA
Who is Eligible for the Work Permit [Limited Driving Permit] as a DUI FIRST OFFENDER?So long as no prior nolo contendere plea or guilty plea has occurred within 5 years, drivers age 21 and over are eligible. This applies to your DUI convictions from other jurisdictions outside GA, too. If you received a citation for DUI in Georgia at a time when your driver's license was issued from another State, then the DDS will allow you to turn in that VALID license from another State (see next section about administrative suspensions for refusal) for a GA license prior to the disposition (prior to the plea of guilty or nolo contendere) in your case. This important MOVE (exchanging the license)allows you to get the benefit of the "work permit" because the limited driving privilege is ONLY GOOD IN GA. You cannot be issued a "GA "work permit" on a license issued from another state, even if you now live and work in Georgia. A knowledgeable attorney who specializes in DUI canwalk you through this.
If you REFUSED the State-Administered Test of your Breath, Blood or Urine, you MAY be Administratively Suspended for ONE FULL YEARWhether you received your Georgia DUI citation while holding a valid Georgia license or holding a license from any other state, you MAY be suspended from driving in the State of Georgia for a FULL YEAR for that refusal. By appealing within 10 business days, you can keep the issue of administrative suspension "open" while soutions are sought in the criminal DUI case. Once the administrative suspension goes into effect (if you miss your appeal) then you cannot merely plead guilty to DUI and "undo" the administrative suspension.
Second DUI Offenders within Five Years are not eligible for ANY Driving Privileges until all reinstatement conditions are met & 12 months have passedSecond Offenders who are over 21 MUST wait the full 12 months prior to seeking any Limited Permit. This is a "HARD" suspension - NO DRIVING AT ALL. Then, youmust meet all DDS conditions including completion of DHR treatment, getting an ignition interlock installed and paid for, showing proof of insurance coverage, etc. This permit is good for 6 months, at a minimum, where only limited privileges are possible. See next section.
If You Receive the Limited Driving Permit in Georgia, Where Can You Drive, What Routes, What Purposes?Restrictions on where and when you can drive on a limited permit. Georgia law has not made the permit flexible enough to accommodate grocery trips or church, nor completion of community service hours, nor going to and from probation visits. Limited Driving Permits may be obtained ONLY for: 1.Going to your place of employment or performing the normal duties of your occupation. 2.Not having a form of transportation to receive prescribed medical attention or obtaining prescribed drugs.
3.Attending classes at a college or other regularly scheduled school in which you are enrolled.
4.Attending a driver education, or assessment and treatment program court ordered.
5.To and from Ignition Interlock Centers.
The DDS may specify specific places you may travel to, specific routes of travel, times of travel, specific vehicles or other restrictions the Department may deem necessary. A limited permit will be non-renewable and will become invalid on the expiration date of your permit.