Deregistration of Sex Offenders in Texas
It is now possible for individuals registered as sex offenders in the State of Texas to obtain early termination of their obligation to register. Under Chapter 62 of the Texas Rules of Criminal Procedure, provisions are in play that allow individuals who have been convicted or placed on deferred adjudication probation for certain offenses to be eligible for early termination of sex offender registration. The provisions apply to Tier III offenders which is limited to individuals charged with offenses similar to indecency with a child or on-line solititation
There are also provisions for early termination of sex offender registration for juveniles and young adults under the Romeo and Juliette statute. The sexual act must be consenual, and the parties where within 4 years difference in age. Also the child must have been over the age of 15 years.