Criminal Traffic Charges and Defenses in Hillsborough County, Florida Courts
If you have been arrested or issued a notice to appear in court for a criminal traffic violation, call Tampa Law Firm, Maj Vasigh, PA for a no-cost consultation right away. Most people don’t realize that certain traffic infractions are actually criminal charges and are a big deal with serious consequences. It’s basically the equivalent of a misdemeanor arrest or worse. Before you go to court in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Polk, Sarasota, or Manatee County, seek the advice of an experienced and savvy Traffic Attorney by calling (813) 800-1111.
Driving While License Suspended: The most commonly issued criminal traffic citation in most counties in Florida, especially Hillsborough County. Cops frequently run tag numbers of vehicles in their site. If the license registered to that tag number is suspended, you will be pulled over and charged with Driving While License Suspended (DWLS). A conviction for DWLS carries possible jail time, large fines, and can lead to a 5 year driver’s license revocation. Imagine the disruption that 5 years of no driving can cause to your life. Seek the advice of an experienced and savvy DWLS Attorney in Tampa who will determine how to fight and beat your DWLS charge.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident: If you hit another’s property, you have a legal obligation to provide your pertinent contact information; or if the other owner of the property is not present, you must report the accident to local law enforcement. Depending on whether there was injury, death, or simple property damage, you can be charged with a misdemeanor up to a felony, facing serious consequences such as jail time. Common defenses do exist such as lack of knowledge or inability to contact law enforcement. If you have been charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Polk, or Sarasota County, call Tampa Traffic Law Firm MAJ VASIGH, PA to immediately begin the defense of your criminal traffic case.
Fleeing and Eluding: Fleeing to Elude a law enforcement officer is a serious felony charge in Hillsborough County and the State of Florida. Depending on the facts of the charge, you can face consequences such as up to 5 years prison, a $5000 fine, and up to a 5 year license revocation. If for example your case has certain aggravating factors such as fleeing at high speed or reckless driving, you are facing a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison. There are very unique defenses to fleeing and eluding that an experienced Tampa Traffic Attorney can explore to defend your case. If you your someone you know has been charged with fleeing and eluding, call (813) 800-1111 to speak with an experienced Traffic Attorney.
Reckless Driving: Reckless driving is not just a slap on the wrist that happens when your DUI is dropped. Reckless driving is proven by showing the defendant drove with a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Like fleeing and eluding, DUI, and other criminal traffic laws, Reckless driving can be aggravated if certain facts are present. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor or felony depending on the facts, and is punishable by anywhere from 90 days to 5 years in prison, among other penalties. Call an experienced Tampa Reckless Driving Attorney who can quickly begin to develop case strategy to protect your rights (813) 800-1111.