Criminal Penalties under Tennessee Law
FeloniesEach felony offense is categorized by a particular classification. First Degree Murder is its own classification, but all other crimes are categorized as A, B, C, D, or E Felonies or A, B, or C misdemeanors. A Felonies (e.g.: 2nd Degree Murder, Aggravated Rape, Rape of a child, etc.) carry 15-60 years in prison with a fine of up to $50,000. B Felonies (e.g., Vehicular homicide involving alcohol, Rape, Theft of Property over $60,000, many drug offense, etc.) have a range of 8 to 30 years with a fine of up to $25,000 (Fines for drug offenses may exceed $25,000 and are specified by statute). C Felonies (e.g.: Voluntary Manslaughter, Kidnapping, etc.) has a range of 3-15 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. D Felonies (e.g.: Aggravated Assault, Vehicular Assault, etc.) carry 2-12 years with a fine of up to $5,000 and a E Felony (Statutory Rape, Harassment, Evading Arrest with a motor vehicle, etc.) has a sentencing range of 1 to 6 years and a fine of up to $3000.
MisdemeanorsClass A Misdemeanors include DUI, assault, criminal impersonation, underage alcohol possession and carry a maximum punishment of 11 months and 29 days and a fine of up to $2,500. Class B Misdemeanors (e.g.: Patronizing Prostitution, Resisting arrest, public indecency) carries a maximum jail sentence of 6 months and a fine not to exceed $500. Finally, C Misdemeanors include public intoxication, disorderly conduct, criminal trespass, violation of a protective order, gambling, etc. and carry a maximum jail sentence of 30 days and a fine of $50.
Miscellaneous rulesA particular offense may have a fine prescribed by statute and in such cases the minimum or maximum fine is the fine specified by such statute. Many offenses can carry other ramifications as well. For instance, a misdemeanor conviction for domestic violence in state court results in a permanent loss of your right to carry a firearm under federal law. Many sexual offenses carry the requirement that one's name be placed on the sexual offender registry.
You should contact a criminal defense attorney that practices in Tennessee if you have specific questions about the penalties for a particular offense.