Penalties resulting from DUI offenses become harsher with each subsequent conviction.
DUI is a misdemeanor in Maryland
Keep in mind that if you want to avoid a suspension of your driver's license or driving privileges, you must request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) within ten (10) days of the issue date of the officer's certification and Order of Suspension. You technically have thirty (30) days to request a hearing, but in order to ensure your license is not suspended before the hearing, it is best to make the request within ten (10) days. Your driver's license will be suspended on the 46th day after the Order of Suspension if you do not request a hearing within ten (10) days of the Order of Suspension or you do not elect to participate in the Ignition Interlock System program for one year instead of requesting a hearing.
First time offenders who are convicted of DUI in Maryland will be subject to a driver's license suspension, monetary fines, and/or jail time. Specifically, the MVA will revoke your license for six (6) months and you will incur twelve (12) points on your driver's license. In addition, a first DUI offense carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. Finally, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), which is a breathalyzer device connected to the car that does not allow the car to start if the driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the programmed limit, is not required for your first offense. If you refuse to submit to an alcohol-related test, or submit to a test and the result indicates an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more at the time of testing, your driver's license will be confiscated, you will be issued an Order of Suspension, and if eligible, a temporary license valid for 45 days.
Second time or subsequent offenders who are convicted of DUI in Maryland will be subject to a driver's license suspension, monetary fines, jail time, and use of an IID. Specifically, the MVA will revoke your driver's license for one year, require use of an IID for a three to twelve (3-12) month period, impose twelve (12) points on your license, and recommend an alcohol abuse program. In addition, a second DUI offense carries a maximum penalty of two (2) years in jail (with a mandatory minimum of five days) and/or a $2,000 fine. If your alcohol test result reveals an alcohol concentration of at least 0.08, but less than 0.15, the suspension of your driver's license will be 90 days. If your test result is 0.15 or more, the suspension will be 180 days for a second or subsequent offense. If you refuse the test, the suspension will be one year for a second or subsequent offense.
For third time offenders who are convicted of DUI in Maryland, the MVA will revoke your license for eighteen (18) months. In addition, a third DUI offense carries a maximum penalty of three years in jail and/or a $3,000 fine.
Note that in Maryland, the lookback period, or period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing, is ten (10) years. In other words, judges can take into account prior DUI convictions within ten (10) years when sentencing for a current DUI offense. It is imperative that you hire an experienced DUI attorney if you have subsequent DUI offenses. If you have been charged with your second or a subsequent DUI, the penalties increase substantially and an experienced DUI attorney can work hard to limit these consequences. Experienced DUI attorneys have extensive knowledge necessary to walk you through the process and increase the possibility of a favorable outcome.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.