Common Texas DWI Penalties
A Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense in the State of Texas can lead to disastrous consequences for an accused. If you’ve been charged with an intoxication charge, hiring someone that can provide you with a better understanding of the complex process will put you at ease.
DWI 1stTypically, a first DWI offense is classified as a Class B misdemeanor offense which carries a maximum punishment range of 180 days in county jail and a minimum 3-day sentence. In addition to possible confinement, such offense carries a fine of up to $2,000.00. Time is of the essence when you've been charged with a Texas DWI. The State, via the Texas Department of Public Safety, will move to suspend your driver's license or driving privileges 15 days from the date of your arrest if you fail to request a hearing. This administrative process is labeled as the Administrative License Revocation program.
DWI 2ndA DWI 2nd is classified as a Class A misdemeanor offense which carries a maximum punishment range of 365 days in county jail and a minimum 30-day sentence. In addition to possible confinement, such offense carries a fine of up to $4,000.00.
DWI 3rd - Felony DWIOnce a defendant has two prior convictions of DWI, if he picks a third DWI, the offense is now classified as a 3rd degree felony offense which carries a maximum punishment range of 10 years in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice center and a minimum 2-year sentence. In addition to possible confinement, such offense carries a fine of up to $10,000.00.
DWI Enhancements & Offense Level Changing FactorsOpen Container - If there was an open container of alcohol in your car when arrested, the minimum term of confinement is six (6) days in the county jail.
Child Passenger- If there was a child under 15 years of age riding as a passenger with you while driving while intoxicated, the offense level is a State Jail Felony which is punishable by 6 months to 2 years in a State Jail Facility and a fine up to $10,000 not including annual surcharge fees.
1st DWI with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of .15 or greater - Such determination will raise your 1st DWI Class B Misdemeanor to an offense level of a Class A Misdemeanor which carries a punishment range of 72 hours to 1 year.