Commercial Traffic Violations Can Cost You Your License
Your CDL is essential if you earn a living as a commercial truck driver. Losing your license to violations of federal and state traffic laws can put your commercial driver’s license at risk. In fact, for many truck drivers, losing their license means losing their job and their livelihood.
A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is a driver’s license required in the United States to operate any vehicle which has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more. This is included, but not limited to tractor trailers, tow trucks and buses.
The Commercial Motor Safety Act of 1986 was established with the intent to improve highway safety. The act was designed to ensure that commercial drivers were qualified to operate Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMVs) and to remove unsafe drivers from the U.S. roadways. Prior to the Commercial Driver’s License Program in 1986, licensing requirements for driving large vehicles varied amongst the states. Today, in order to obtain a CDL, you must pass a written knowledge test, a pre-trip vehicle inspection and an on-road driving test in order to qualify for a Commercial Driver’s License.
Commercial truck drivers are expected to drive with the utmost care on U.S. highways and roads. Truck drivers are never to act in a reckless or careless manner which might endanger the lives or property of others. Therefore, Colorado, like other states, has adopted its own set of laws in relation to commercial truck violations. The following traffic violations are considered very serious and can lead to a license suspension or revocation. Those serious violations include driving over 15 mph over the speed limit, following another vehicle too closely, unsafe or erratic lane change, failure to have a valid CDL and reckless driving.
A first offense will incur a fine, a second offense within three years will impose a 60-day license suspension and if you have a third offense within a three-year time period, your license will be suspended for 120 days. An out-of-service order violation can make you lose your license for a minimum of 90 days or more than three years if you had a number of violations within a certain period of time.
In addition to penalties imposed while driving a commercial truck, points accrued while driving a personal vehicle will have a negative impact on your commercial driver’s license as well.
In the state of Colorado, there is a standard points system in place for commercial traffic violations. For example, points are set for violations including DUI, evading an officer, reckless or careless driving, speeding and failure to provide proof of insurance.
Commercial truck drivers are at risk of license suspension or revocation if they accumulate too many points against their CDL license. If you have received a ticket for a CDL violation, it’s crucial that you hire an attorney who knows the ins and outs of CDL laws in Colorado. When your livelihood and your reputation are on the line, you owe it to yourself to seek legal representation from a skilled Denver traffic ticket lawyer who can fight to keep you on the road.