This guide is designed to show you what could happen if you are charged with a Speeding Ticket in Ohio. Lists the proper speeds and penalties.
Ohio Revised Code 4511.21 - Speed
Ohio Revised Code Section 4511.21 explains what the speed limit should be in certain geographical locations. This statute can create a difficult quagmire for drivers, attorneys, courts, and law enforcement. This article is intended to provide you with a better understanding of the speeding laws in Ohio as well as what the potential penalties and options are.
Speed in General
ORC 4511.21 states that "(A) No person shall operate a motor vehicle . . . at a speed greater or less than is reasonable or proper, having due regard to the traffic surface, and width of the street or highway and any other conditions ..."
Presumption of Guilt
Section (B) of this code section provides that it is prima-facie (presumed guilty) to operate a motor vehicle at a speed greater than the following:
Presumptive Speeds in Ohio
(1) 20 MPH in a school zone during recess hours or when kids are coming and going during school hours. a. School limit signs must be displayed b. There is no requirement that a school zone have flashing lights under this section. c. There is no requirement that a school zone have posted times showing normal school hours. (2) 25 MPH in all other portions of a municipal corporation except on state routes outside of business districts, through highways outside business districts, and alleys. (3) 35 MPH on all state routes or through highways within municipal corporations outside business districts except on controlled access highways and expressways within a municipal corporation and/or state routes within a municipal corporation outside urban districts unless a lower speed is established (4) 50 MPH on controlled-access highways within municipal corporations (5) 55 MPH on highways outside municipal corporations except for rural divided highways, rural expressways, rural freeways, and freeways in areas determined by the director to be urban areas. (6) 50 MPH on state routes within a municipal corporation outside urban districts UNLESS a lower speed limit is established (7) 15 MPH on municipal alleys (8) 35 MPH on highways outside municipal corporations in island jurisdictions (9) 60 MPH on two lane state routes outside of municipal corporations (10) 55 MPH on freeways with a paved shoulder inside of a municipal corporation (11) 55 MPH on freeways outside of municipal corporations (12) 60 MPH on rural divided highways (13) 65 MPH on rural expressways (14) 70 MPH on rural freeways (15) 55 MPH on congested freeways as determined by the director (16) 65 MPH on freeways in urban areas as determined by the director
Any person who violates this section can face the following penalties: (P)(1)(a) Unless otherwise provided below: Speeding is a minor misdemeanor which carries a maximum possible fine of $150. No jail time is possible on minor misdemeanor offenses. (P)(1)(b) if within 1 year the driver has been convicted of 2 prior violations of this law or a similar ordinance speeding is a fourth degree misdemeanor which carries up to $250 fine and 30 days in jail. (P)(1)(c) If within one year the driver has been convicted of three or more offenses of this law or a similar ordinance speeding is a third degree misdemeanor which carries up to $500 fine and 60 days in jail. (P)(2) If the driver has no prior convictions within one year and the speed was driving faster than 35 mph in a business district or greater than 50 MPH in a municipal corporation, or 35 MPH in a school zone speeding is a fourth degree misdemeanor which carries up to $250 fine and 30 days in jail. (P)(3) All fines can be doubled in a listed construction zone. In addition to these penalties the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will assess points on a person's drivers license in the following as provided by ORC 4510.036: o If driving more than 30 MPH over the listed speed limit 4 points will be assessed o If the speed is 55 MPH and the person is driving more than 10 MPH over the speed limit 2 points will be assessed o If the speed is less than 55 MPH and the person is driving more than 5 MPH over the speed limit two points will be assessed. o Any person driving two slow for the conditions can be assessed 2 points. A conviction for speeding can result in an increase in insurance premiums, loss of job if driving is a part of your job duties, license suspension if the court finds that you were driving recklessly or are a reckless driver, and eventual suspension of your driver's license if you accumulate to many convictions. An attorney can review your case and try to either win the case or get the prosecutor to reduce the charge to protect your driving record and your license.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.