LEGAL GUIDE
Written by attorney Hussein Ali Chahine | Jan 23, 2011

California DUI Penalties

Those convicted of California DUIs face potentially serious penalties including, but not limited to, imprisonment, fines, driver’s license revocation and suspension, mandatory ignition interlock devices, and community service.

Judges have strict guidelines governing the factors they must weigh when issuing sentences for DUI convictions. These factors include the existence of any aggravating circumstances such as previous DUIs, the refusal to submit to a blood alcohol content test, having a blood alcohol content twice the legal limit or higher, or driving while under the influence with a minor younger than 14 in the car. Where aggravating factors exist, penalties for DUI may be more severe.

Those charged with DUIs face potentially serious penalties that may significantly affect your life and your future. If you’ve been charged with a California DUI, it is critical to contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon a possible to evaluate your case. A skilled lawyer may be able to work with prosecutors to reduce or even eliminate DUI charges.

The following is a list of current penalties for DUI Offenses:

DUI 1st Offense - Up to six months in jail - Fines of $390 to $1000 - Six-month license suspension - Completion of a Driving Under the Influence Program - Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device - Requirement of California Insurance Required for Restricted License

DUI 2nd Offense

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines of $390 to $1000
  • Two-year license suspension
  • May apply for a restricted driver license
  • Completion of a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Requirement of California Insurance Required for Restricted License

DUI 3rd Offense

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines of $390 to $1000
  • Three-year license suspension
  • May apply for a restricted driver license after one year
  • Designation as a habitual offender
  • Completion of a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Requirement of California Insurance Required for Restricted License

DUI 4th Offense

  • State Prison Term Sentence
  • Fines of $390 to $1000
  • Four-year license suspension
  • May apply for a restricted driver license after one year
  • Designation as a habitual offender
  • Completion of a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Requirement of California Insurance Required for Restricted License

Rate this guide


Avvo DUI email series

Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer