Blogs by PROD: Notice Requirements for California Tenants
Do you want access to this blog on “Blogs by PROD: Notice Requirements for California Tenants”? Join our Facebook group “Legal Educational Material, Programs, and Community Support Group” if you want to see this blog, get legal answers, and much more. https://www.facebook.com/groups/6605884511996
IntroYou may be aware that a landlord must give their tenants some notice that they need to move out before beginning an eviction process, at least in California. This notice is usually one of 30 days, or 60 days if the tenant has lived there a year or longer. However, you might not be aware that our state also has some requirements for tenants to give notice before moving as well. This blog will be specific to California law; there may be some differences in other states.
Notice Requirements for California TenantsGenerally speaking, you must give your landlord 30 days' notice to end a month-to-month tenancy. This is assuming your rental agreement does not provide for a different notice period, as it is common that some leases allow for shorter notice.
It is also advisable to be aware of other clauses pertaining to moving out in your rental agreement. For example, some may specify that notice must be given on the first or fifteenth day of the month. So make sure you are well versed in the terms, as missing the date specified can delay the process of moving out by a month or more.
In some situations, you may be able to move out with less (or no) notice—for example, if your landlord seriously violates the rental agreement or fails to fulfill legal responsibilities affecting your health or safety.