Beware of Virginia Marijuana 251 Dismissal
Here are the top Five Reasons to Beware of the Marijuana 251 Disposition:
- Dismissal will require a period of supervised probation.
- Dismissal will require ongoing drug testing.
- Dismissal will almost always include a 6 month suspension of license.
- Dismissal will require completion of classes mandated by the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, even if the case had nothing to do with Alcohol, which usually costs at least $300.00.
- Dismissal will require completion of Community Service, up to 24 hours or more for a Marijuana possession charge, and 100 hours or more for a Felony charge.
In addition, such a "dismissal" will require payment of Court costs, drug testing fees, lab tests, and court appointed attorney's fees, (when applicable).
Finally, failure to complete any of the above conditions will result in the 251 dismissal being revoked, followed by conviction and then, the uncertainty of a misdemeanor sentencing by the Judge.