Written by attorney Robert Franklin Dean

Bankruptcy Courts in Maryland

Maryland is one district for the purposes of federal court. The Maryland District has two divisions: the Northern Division in Baltimore and the Southern Division in Greenbelt. Bankruptcy proceedings are held in federal courts, not in the Maryland state District and Circuit courts in each county.

Every bankruptcy case has a meeting of creditors (also known as the “341" meeting, for the section of the Bankruptcy Code which requires it). These meetings are held in either Baltimore (for debtors residing in Carroll, Howard, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Harford, and Cecil Counties, and Baltimore City), in Greenbelt (for Prince George’s, Montgomery, Charles, Calvert, and St. Mary’s Counties), in Salisbury (for Kent, Queen Anne’s, Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset, Talbot, Worcester and Wicomico Counties), or in Hagerstown (Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties).

Debtors residing in Queen Anne’s County can file a motion to have their 341 Meeting in Baltimore instead of Salisbury if they so choose.

The addresses for each 341 location are:

101 West Lombard Street

Room 2650

Baltimore MD 21202

6305 Ivy Lane

6th Floor

Greenbelt MD 20770

129 East Main Street (Post office)

Salisbury MD 21801

1 East Franklin Street (City Hall)

Second Floor

Hagerstown MD 21740

Court proceedings for Southern Division cases are held in the Greenbelt courthouse, which is located at 6500 Cherrywood Lane, Greenbelt MD, 20770. Court proceedings for the Northern Division may be held at 101 West Lombard Street or at 129 East Main Street.

Additional resources provided by the author

Free Q&A with lawyers in your area

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer