Auto Accidents: When the Other Driver Doesn’t Have a License
Injured in an auto accident involving a driver without a license? Although it may not have played a role in the cause of the accident, it could impact recovery. Many times unlicensed drivers don’t have proper insurance coverage. Get as much driver information as possible at the scene.
If you sustained serious bodily harm, stemming from the negligence of another driver, you could be entitled to compensation. For help with your case, contact a Clarksburg personal injury attorney.
Steps to Take after an Auto Accident: Get the Driver Information
One of the most important steps to take after an accident is to contact the police. If you are dealing with a driver who doesn’t have a license, he or she might try to dissuade you. Tell your Clarksburg personal injury attorney about any arguments or promises the other driver instigates to keep you from calling the cops.
Failing to contact the authorities could be against the law. It may impede your ability to recover damages if the other driver was at fault. So no matter what, always call the police.
The second step will be to acquire driver information, including:
- name and phone number;
- driver’s insurance company name and policy number; and
- his or her driver license/plate number.
All of this information will be important if you end up filing a claim. If the driver refuses to give you this information, it could be because he or she does not have a license and/or auto insurance coverage.
This is yet another reason to make sure the authorities are involved. It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle without a valid license or auto insurance. While the police will note these things on your accident report, it is up to your Clarksburg personal injury attorney to ensure the other driver is held responsible for your injuries on top of breaking the law.
In West Virginia, it is the law to not only be licensed but to carry your license and driver information with you at all times when operating a vehicle. When law enforcement asks to see it and one is not provided, this will likely be indicated on the police report.
A copy of the report will be one of the pieces of documentation you will want to submit as evidence after an auto accident. But again, this doesn’t have any bearing on the cause of the crash. You would still need to prove the other driver was at fault if you hope to be compensated..
Auto Accident Involving an Uninsured Driver
Unfortunately, sometimes unlicensed drivers don’t have insurance on the vehicle. Even if he or she was at fault, this could result in difficulty receiving compensation for your injuries.
In West Virginia, the minimum mandatory requirements for insurance coverage are $10,000 for property damage, $20,000 for one accident and one injury, and $40,000 for one accident with two or more injuries. In addition to seeking legal action against the driver, if you have uninsured motorist coverage, this could help in paying for your medical costs.
Your next step should be to consult with a Clarksburg personal injury attorney. An attorney may be able to help if you sustained serious injuries as a result of someone else’s negligence in an auto accident. Tracking down the driver information is an important Clarksburg personal injury attorney role that should begin immediately: (304) 931-4088.