In the State of Arizona, if you are arrested on an Aggravated DUI (ARS 28-1383), it is a felony charge. If you are found guilty of this crime, you will receive a mandatory prison sentence.
Penalties for Aggravated DUI in Arizona
An Aggravated DUI is a class four felony. If you are convicted of DUI and your license was suspended, revoked or restricted, you will be charged with an Aggravated DUI as a result. If you are convicted of DUI for a third time in seven (7) years following your first violation, you will receive the felony penalties as well. For a first offense felony, the penalties for Aggravated DUI include a mandatory minimum prison sentence of four months. You will be ordered to participate and pay for a mandatory substance abuse screening and attend alcohol counseling. Your driver's license will be revoked and if you are able to drive legally in the future, you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your car. Once you are able to drive legally, expect huge increases in regards to your car insurance. You will be required to purchase an SR 22 policy which is required by the insurance companies because you are now deemed a high risk driver. You can expect the cost of your auto insurance to increase to around $3,000 per year more than the usual amount. This typically lasts for three years. If you are convicted of a felony in Arizona, you will likely lose your job or any license involving a career (Real Estate, Stockbroker, etc). Most importantly, you will also lose your right to vote and your gun rights.
Second Offense Aggravated DUI
In the case of a second offense for this crime, you can expect punishment that includes a mandatory prison sentence of at least two and one quarter years, with the maximum sentence being seven and a half years. Your license will revoked and if you ever get your license reinstated you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car and carry SR22 insurance. This is in addition to the civil rights that are lost with a felony conviction.
Third Offense Aggravated DUI
If you are convicted of a third offense for the crime, you will face similar penalties as discussed above however, you will be required to serve between six and 15 years in the Department of Corrections.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.