22-year-old former Nickelodeon star, Emma Roberts was taken into custody on July 7 after police responded to a call about a couple fighting in a Montreal hotel. After arriving on the scene, officers found actress, Emma Roberts and her boyfriend, “American Horror Story" actor, Evan Peters disheveled. Peters reportedly had a bloody nose and a bite mark; Roberts allegedly had injuries as well.
Though Roberts was arrested, she was released later that day without incident. 26-year-old Peters will not be pressing charges.
Can I be charged with domestic violence in Arizona if the victim declines to press charges?
Yes, in Arizona, it is possible for a defendant to be charged with and convicted of domestic violence even if the victim declines to press charges. The Arizona legislature has recently increased its efforts towards catching and prosecuting domestic violence offenders, and the prosecution is able to press charges against an individual who is accused of domestic violence even if the victim wishes not to press charges and refuses to participate in a trial. This is one of the many reasons why it is crucial for anyone facing domestic violence charges in Arizona to seek experienced legal representation immediately.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Arizona
The penalties for domestic violence in AZ are severe and can include loss of parental rights, loss of gun rights, mandatory counseling, fines, probation, and incarceration.