A Summary of Traffic Points in Florida
A traffic violation can lead to significant costs because insurance companies use the points assessed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to set your insurance rates for several years after you received the ticket.
While just paying the ticket may be easy and cheaper in the short-term, it results in an admission to the charges filed and an adjudication of guilt. Once you have been adjudicated guilty, DHSMV will assess the points to your driving record. According to Florida Statutes 322.27 the following points will be assessed to your driver's license when you pay the citation:
- Leaving the scene of a crash with more than $50 in property damage
- Unlawful speed resulting in a crash
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Reckless driving
- Speeding - more than 15 mph over the posted or lawful speed
- Any moving violation (except speeding) resulting in a crash
- Speeding - not more than 15 mph over the posted speed
- All other moving violations
In addition to the assessed points, an accumulation of 12 or more points can result in a suspension of your driver's license for up to one year. Fines are doubled when the infraction occurs within a school or construction zone, with a possible civil penalty up to $1000 and you can be required to complete a driving improvement course. Driver’s age 15 to 17 years old who accumulate 6 or more points will be restricted to a “business purpose only" license for 12 months or until they reach 18 years of age.