LEGAL GUIDE
Written by Avvo Staff | Apr 6, 2016

A 50-state overview of the penalty for driving without insurance

In almost every state, driving without insurance is a traffic offense that carries certain penalties. However, the penalty for driving without insurance isn't as consistent. Potential fines, suspensions, and other penalties will depend on where the offense occurs.

While you should always avoid driving without insurance, knowing the penalties can help you get an idea of what you to expect if you are cited for this offense. Take a look at the chart below to see penalties in your state.

Penalties for driving without insurance
  Fines Suspensions Jail Other penalties
Alabama 1st offense: Up to $500. Further offenses: Up to $1000. 1st offense: Registration suspended until payment of $200 reinstatement fee. Further offenses: Registration suspended for 4 months, $400 reinstatement fee, possible 6-month license suspension. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Alaska Not specified.* 1st offense: Minimum license suspension period of 90 days. Further offenses within 10 years: Minimum 1-year license suspension. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Arizona 1st offense: Minimum of $500. 2nd offense in 36 months: Minimum of $750. 3rd offense in 36 months: Minimum of $1000 1st offense: 3-month suspensions of license and registration. 2nd offense in 36 months: 6-month suspensions. 3rd offense in 36 months: 1-year suspensions, proof of financial responsibility required. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Arkansas 1st offense: $50 to $250. 2nd offense: $250 to $500. 3rd offense: $500 to $1000. All offenses: License suspended if proof of insurance is not provided by the time of the disposition, lifting the suspension requires proof of liability coverage. 3rd offense: Courts may impose a sentence of up to 1 year in jail. Not specified.*
California 1st offense: $100 to $200. Future offenses within 3 years: $200 to 500. (Penalty assessments may be imposed in addition to fines) Not specified.* Not specified.* All offenses: The court may order the impoundment of your vehicle, if they have "good cause."
Colorado 1st offense: Minimum of $500. Future offenses within 5 years: Minimum of $1000 All offenses: Proof of financial responsibility required for 3 years, with failure to comply resulting in suspension. Multiple offenses within 5 years: The court may choose to impose a jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year. All offenses: The court may choose to require 40 or more hours of community service.
Connecticut All offenses: $100 to $1000. 1st offense: 1-month suspension, proof of financial responsibility required. Further offenses: 6-month suspension, proof of financial responsibility required. Not specified.* Not specified.*
District of Columbia 1st offense: $500. Further offenses: The original fine of $500 increases by 50% for each offense. For example, a 2nd offense is $750. 1st offense: Possible 30-day license suspension, reinstatement fee may be required. 2nd offense: Possible 60-day license suspension, reinstatement fee may be required. Not specified.* Owning an uninsured vehicle without driving it: The District of Columbia considers this a different offense with its own penalties.
Delaware 1st offense: $1500 to $2000. Further offenses within 3 years: $3000 to $4000. All offenses: 6-month license suspension, proof of insurance required. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Florida Not specified.* This section instead lists license reinstatement fees. 1st offense: $150 reinstatement fee. 2nd offense: $250 fee. 3rd or further offense in 3 years: $500 fee. All offenses: Suspension of license and registration until non-cancelable coverage is obtained and the reinstatement fee is paid. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Georgia All offenses: $200 to $1000. All offenses: License suspension, reinstatement requires proof of insurance and payment of a fee. 1st offense: 60 day suspension, $200 to $210 fee. 2nd offense: 90 day suspension, $300 to $310 fee. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 12 months. Not specified.*
Hawaii 1st offense: $500. Further offenses within 5 years: $1500 to $5000. The court may either require proof of 6 months of non-refundable coverage, or suspend your license as follows: 1st offense: 3-month suspension. 2nd offense within 5 years: 1-year suspension. 3 or more offenses within 5 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of 30 days. Community service may replace the fine. 1st offense: 75 to 100 hours. Multiple offenses: 200 to 275 hours. Also, the court may seize your vehicle or license plates in the case of multiple offenses.
Idaho 1st offense: $75. Further offenses within 5 years: Up to $1000. All offenses: License suspension until proof of financial responsibility provided. 1st offense: Proof required for 1 year. Repeat offense: Proof required for 3 years. 2 or more offenses within 5 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of 6 months. Not specified.*
Illinois 1st and 2nd offenses: $501 to $1000. 3rd or further offense: $1000. All offenses: 3-month license suspension, $100 reinstatement fee. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Indiana Not specified.* This section instead lists license reinstatement fees. 1st offense: $250 reinstatement fee. 2nd offense within 5 years: $500 fee. 3rd or further offense within 5 years: $1000 fee. 1st offense: License suspended for 90 days to 1 year. Further offenses in 5 years: License and/or registration suspended for 1 year. Payment of fee and proof of insurance required to lift suspension. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Iowa All offenses: Up to $250. All offenses: Registration and/or plates may be confiscated until any penalties are paid and proof of insurance is shown. Not specified.* All offenses: Community service may be given instead of the fine.
Kansas 1st offense: $300 to $1000. Further offenses within 3 years: $800 to $2500 Most cases: License suspended until proof of insurance provided. Restoration fee of $100, or $300 if suspended in the past year. 3 or more offenses in 5 years: Loss of driving privileges for 3 years. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 6 months. Not specified.*
Kentucky 1st offense: $500 to $1000. Further offenses within 5 years: $1500 to $2500. 1st offense: License suspended for 1 year, or until proof of insurance provided. Multiple offenses: License revoked for 1 year if one previous violation, 2 years if multiple previous violations. 1st offense: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Multiple offenses within 5 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 180 days. Not specified.*
Louisiana All offenses: Up to $500 All offenses: Suspension of registration and plates until proof of insurance provided and reinstatement fee paid. 1st offense: Fee of $50. 2nd offense: Fee of $150. Further offenses: Fee of $500. Not specified.* All offenses: Your vehicle may be impounded.
Maine All offenses: $100 to $500. All offenses: Suspension of license and registration until proof of insurance provided. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Maryland All offenses: $150 base fine. If you do not have insurance after 30 days, the fine increases by $7 every day, up to a maximum of $2500. All offenses: Registration suspended until proof of insurance is provided. A reinstatement fee of up to $25 may be required. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Massachusetts 1st offense: $500 2nd offense: $500-$5000. 1st offense: 60-day license suspension. 2nd or further offense: 1-year license suspension. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 1 year. All offenses: Risk plan, either $500 or 1 year's premium for compulsory insurance, whichever is greater.
Michigan All offenses: $200 to $500. All offenses: License suspension lasting for a minimum of 30 days. Proof of insurance and a service fee of $25 will be required to lift the suspension. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 1 year. Not specified.*
Minnesota 1st and 2nd offense: $200 to $1000. 3rd offense within 10 years: $200 to $3000. All offenses: License and registration suspended for a maximum of 12 months, with proof of insurance required for reinstatement. 1st and 2nd offense: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 90 days. 3rd offense within 10 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 1 year. All offenses: Courts may choose to impose community service instead of fines if you cannot pay the fine.
Mississippi All offenses: $500, reduced to $100 if you provide proof of insurance at your hearing or when paying the fine. All offenses: License suspension for 1 year, or until proof of insurance is shown. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Missouri All offenses: Up to $300. 1st offense: License and registration suspended, $20 recovery fee. 2nd offense: Suspended for 90 days, fee of $200. Further offenses: Suspended for 1 year, $400 fee. (All require proof of insurance.) 2nd or further offense: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 15 days. Not specified.*
Montana 1st offense: $250 to $500. 2nd offense: $350. 3rd offense: $500 2nd offense: 90-day suspensions of registration and plates, proof of insurance required. 3rd offense: Suspensions are 180 days. Further offenses: As 3rd offense, plus license suspension. 1st offense or 2nd offense within 5 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 10 days. 3rd offense within 5 years: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 6 months. Not specified.*
Nebraska Not specified.* All offenses: License, registration, and plates are suspended until reinstatement fees are paid and proof of financial responsibility is provided. Fees are $50 for license, and $50 for registration. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Nevada Fines are based on the amount of time spent without insurance. 1st offense: $250, $500, or $1000. 2nd offense: $500 or $1000. 3rd offense: $500, $750, or $1000. All offenses: Registration suspended until payment of reinstatement fee. 1st offense: $250 reinstatement fee. 2nd offense: $500 fee. 3rd offense: $750 fee. Not specified.* If the gap in insurance coverage was more than 90 days, an SR-22 will be required.
New Hampshire New Hampshire does not require drivers to have car insurance. Car insurance is not required, but if you are at fault in an accident and have no insurance, your license may be suspended until you provide proof of your ability to pay for any damages. New Hampshire does not require drivers to have car insurance. New Hampshire does not require drivers to have car insurance.
New Jersey 1st offense: $300 to $1000. Further offenses: Up to $5000. 1st offense: 1 year license suspension. 2nd or further offense: 2 year license suspension, court must permit the application for a new license. 2nd or further offense: Subject to imprisonment for 14 days. 1st offense: Community service, overall time determined by court. 2nd offense: 30 days community service.
New Mexico All offenses: Up to $300. All offenses: Registration is suspended and it must be returned to the Motor Vehicle Division. Conditions for recovery are not listed in the law, but most other states require proof of insurance. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Failure to return license or registration when it is suspended carries a fine of up to $1000 and a possible jail sentence of up to 6 months.
New York All offenses: Fine of $150 to $1500. All offenses: License and registration may be revoked for 1 year. Recovery requires paying a civil penalty of $750. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 15 days. Not specified.*
North Carolina 1st offense: $50. 2nd offense in 3 years: $100. 3rd or further offense in 3 years: $150. All offenses: Knowingly driving without insurance results in a 30 day suspension of registration. Reinstatement requires proof of financial responsibility and payment of a $50 fee. Jail time for this offense is not specifically outlined, but under NC law in general, repeated misdemeanor convictions may lead to probation or jail. Not specified.*
North Dakota 1st offense: $150 to $1000. 2nd or further offense: $300 to $5000. All offenses: License suspended until proof of insurance is provided. Proof must be maintained for 3 years. 2nd or further offense: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 30 days. All offenses: Requirement to use a special license, which costs $50 to obtain. The fee to return to a normal license is also $50.
Ohio Not specified.* This section instead lists reinstatement fees. 1st offense: Up to $160 in total fees. 2nd offense within 5 years: Up to $360. 3rd or further offense within 5 years: Up to $660. 1st offense: License, registration, and plates suspended until requirements for reinstatement are met. 2nd offense: Suspension period of 1 year. Further offenses: Suspension period of 2 years. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Oklahoma All offenses: Up to $250. All offenses: License suspension until proof of financial responsibility/security is provided, and reinstatement fees are paid. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 30 days. All offenses: The citing officer may impound your vehicle, or seize your license plates and issue a citation that acts as temporary plates for 10 days.
Oregon All offenses: The presumptive fine is $260, but court fines range from $130 to $1000. All offenses: Proof of financial responsibility required for 3 years, with failure to comply resulting in suspension. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Pennsylvania All offenses: $300. All offenses: License and registration suspended for 3 months, reinstatement requires proof of financial responsibility and payment of a $50 reinstatement fee. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Rhode Island 1st offense: May be fined $100 to $500. 2nd offense: May be fined $500. 3rd offense: May be fined $1000. All offenses: License suspension requiring proof of financial responsibility and $30-$50 fee. 1st offense: 3-month suspension. 2nd offense: 6-month suspension. Further offenses: 12-month suspension. Not specified.* Not specified.*
South Carolina Not specified.* Driver's license and registration suspended until a $550 uninsured motorist fee is paid. SR-22 required for 3 years starting from date of suspension. Not specified.* Driving an uninsured vehicle that you do not own is a separate offense with its own penalties under South Carolina law.
South Dakota All offenses: Maximum fine of $500. All offenses: Registration suspended until proof of financial responsibility provided. License suspended for 30 days to 1 year, $50 fee and proof of financial responsibility needed for reinstatement. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 30 days. Not specified.*
Tennessee All offenses: Maximum fine of $100. All offenses: Suspension of license and registration until proof of financial responsibility is provided, a $100 reinstatement fee is paid, and a driver's license examination is passed. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Texas 1st offense: $175-$350. Multiple offenses: $350 to $1000. All offenses: $250 conviction surcharge, annually for 3 years. 2nd or further offense: License and registration suspended, unless proof of insurance provided for 2 years. Not specified.* 2nd or further offense: Vehicle impoundment for 180 days. $15 impoundment fee per day ($2700 for 180 days). Vehicle recovery requires proof of financial responsibility.
Utah 1st offense: Minimum fine of $400. Further offense within 3 years: Minimum fine of $1000. All offenses: The court may cancel up to $300 of the fine if you provide proof of insurance before sentencing. All offenses: License and registration suspended until proof of insurance for 3 years is provided and a $100 reinstatement fee is paid. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Vermont All offenses: Up to $500. All offenses: Suspension until proof of financial responsibility is provided. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Virginia All offenses: Up to $500. All offenses: Suspension of license, registration, and plates until proof of financial responsibility is provided and a $500 fee is paid. Not specified.* Not specified.*
Washington All offenses: $250. Not specified.* Not specified.* All offenses: The fine of $250 may be waived in favor of community service.
West Virginia All offenses: $200 to $5000. 1st offense: License and registration suspended for 30 days and until proof of insurance provided. Suspensions may be waived if a $200 fee is paid. Further offenses: 90-day suspensions of the same. 2nd or later offense: The court may impose a jail sentence of 15 days to 1 year. Not specified.*
Wisconsin All offenses: Up to $500. Not specified.* Not specified.* Presenting fraudulent insurance is punishable by a fine of up to $5000.
Wyoming 1st offense: $250 to $750. Further offenses: $500 to $1500. 2nd or later offense: Registration and license plates confiscated until proof of financial responsibility is provided. All offenses: The court may impose a jail sentence of up to 6 months. Not specified.*

Disclaimer

This table is presented as an informational resource only, and should not be used when making legal decisions.

It is believed to represent state laws at the time of publication, but in some states, individual cities may have their own laws on the matter. In Alaska, for example, the city of Anchorage outlines their own fines.

As traffic laws are routinely changed and/or updated, you should always consult a lawyer if you have questions about specific laws in your state.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer