The 5 Things Insurance Companies Don't Want You To Know That Are Costing You Thousands In Your Personal Injury Case
Disclosure of Insurance Coverage
1) Under Georgia law, insurance companies are required to disclose all insurance policies that are available for your injury due to someone else's negligence.
Insurance companies are not going to tell you this though, since they want to pay you as little money as possible. When dealing with insurance companies make sure you ask them about ALL applicable coverage. If insurance won't give it to you, hire a personal injury lawyer that understands the power of this law.
2) If you're injured by a drunk driver you may be entitled to a minimum $25,000 settlement.
Drunk driving cases are very different because they are not considered an accident but instead treated as egregious behavior (or just really really bad). In the state of Georgia this means your chances of receiving punitive damages are very high. Obviously every case is different, but if you've been hit by a drunk driver DO NOT leave money on the table that belongs to you!
3) You are not obligated to give the at fault party's insurance company a recorded statement.
Honestly, you should never give them a recorded statement without a lawyer present. They will try to trick you or lead you into questions that can make it seem like you were at fault or had greater fault in the accident. This will mean less money for you and in some cases they may even try to use the recording to prove you were the one at fault! (Believe me, I've seen it happen so many times)
Choosing A Medical Provider
4) When you're injured in a car wreck in Georgia, do not listen to the at-fault party's insurance company about what doctors you can and cannot see.
Insurance companies are going to try and tell you that you can only see cheaper doctors and this is only because they want to pay as little as possible for your claim. Even worse is when they say you shouldn't go to a doctor because the damage on your car is too low. DON'T FALL INTO THAT TRAP! Only you know how your body is feeling after a wreck, and you are entitled to the best treatment available. Even if you don't have health insurance, there are so many doctors that will treat you on a lien basis through your lawyer. Not sure what that means? Shoot us a message and we'll gladly explain!
Statute of Limitations
5) In the state of Georgia you have up to 2 years to recover damages for any personal injury matter.
This is known as the statute of limitations. If it's been less than 2 years and you've had ongoing or new issues related to your personal injury case you might still be able to file a claim. And in some very specific cases, you might even be able get that 2 years extended. A lot of insurance companies will try to delay the process past the two year point, but once you've missed the statute of limitations period YOUR CASE IS OVER!
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.