21/30 Day Notice in Virginia
If a landlord wants to evict a tenant for reasons other than under the Quit or Pay process, the landlord must give the tenant a written notice, thirty days in advance. If tenant does not move by the end of the 30 days, the landlord may start an eviction process in the county General District Court in GDC.
The tenant does not have to move just because the landlord has given a written notice.
Under the Virginia Residential Landord Tenant Act (VRLTA) if – during the lease term – the landlord wants to evict for any reason other than non-payment of rent, the landlord must give tenant a '21/30' day written notice to move.
This notice must explain the problem or reason the landlord wants to evict. If tenant corrects the problem in 21 days, tenant may stay. If not, the landlord can start an eviction process in GDC.