Please let me know the workers comp process starting with date of injury?Insurance started to pay all benefits for the first 90 days. ive been sent a letter on Nortice of Hearing in the mail 2 days ago. It says its a 10 minute pretrial. If claim is accepted by judge at this Pre trial how long will I have to wait for Main trial if all goes well. Is it the pre trial or main trial I have a chance off getting my insurance money to start coming to me again?
You need to meet with a lawyer to go over the whole situation to get the best answers to your questions. Don’t go into litigation without a lawyer.
Attorney Wolf is licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania only. He is Certified as a specialist in the practice of workers' compensation law by the Pennsylvania Bar Association's Section on Workers' Compensation Law as authorized by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. A response from Attorney Wolf cannot constitute legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship.
Workers Comp involves serial hearings. Judge won't put you on comp at first hearing unless there is an irregularity with the bureau documents. You really need to sit down with an attorney to review your situation to maximize your chances of getting back on comp asap.
This advice is intended for general purposes only and does not constitute the entering into an attorney-client relationship.
If you have an attorney, your questions should be addressed to him/her. If not, you should immediately consult with and hire an experienced workers’ compensation attorney to represent you and guide you through the process.
You will need an attorney to win your case.
The judge assigned to hear your case will have his/her procedures posted online. Your attorney can also explain whether you need to attend the first hearing and when you will testify.
You are requesting a 3 year seminar on a question and answer board. Short answer is that every case is different, and the procedure, filings, evidence and many other factors develop as the case moves along. If you want to obtain the best outcome for yourself, you need to hire a workers' compensation attorney.
Timothy D. Belt, Esquire Certified as a specialist in the practice of workers’ compensation law by the Pennsylvania Bar Association’s Section on Workers’ Compensation Law as authorized by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. DISCLAIMER: This post is intended as general information applicable only to the state of Pennsylvania. The information given is based strictly upon the facts provided. This post is not intended to create an attorney client relationship, or to provide any specific guarantee of confidentiality.
I agree with all of the foregoing answers but right separately to address an aspect of your question upon which no others have commented. The nature of your question suggests that you do not have an attorney and, more importantly, that you do not fully grasp the information provided to you in the various documents you have received, because it sounds like the insurance carrier was only paying you pursuant to A Notice of Temporary Compensation Payable and terminated its payments prior to the expiration of 90 days from the date of your injury. If that is the case, then I suspect that the carrier has elected to deny liability. Again, if that is the case (and, as Ms. Kaufman suggests, unless there is an irregularity in the termination documents), then your case will simply proceed as a contested liability claim and will likely take quite some time to be resolved in your favor (assuming you win). If you do not have a lawyer because the lawyer will receive 20% of your compensation payable, you are making a big mistake because 80% of the amount you are due is infinitely better than the 0% that you will likely receive without an attorney at all. I suggest you get a lawyer… Pronto
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline