It's the gas station owner who has the most to lose. He can lose his license to sell tobacco. You son is likely to face no more than a fine and, of course, getting fired.
He will have to go to court and what happens there depends on the facts that you may not have or that only a lawyer can get by asking your son questions. Your son should contact an attorney in your area who handled criminal cases to get some advice. We are not allowed to give legal advice on AVVO. Good luck to you and your son.
DISCLAIMER: The following language is required pursuant to Rule 7.2, Alabama Rules of Professional Conduct: No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of the legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information contained herein is intended for general informational purposes only. The information should not be construed as legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Any response given does not result in any further obligation to provide an additional response. Seek competent legal counsel for advice on any legal matter.
Selling cigarettes to a minor is a criminal offense. See, Code of Alabama, 1975, section 13A-12-3 titled 'Selling cigarettes to minors' which states: "Any person who sells, barters, exchanges or gives to any minor any cigarettes, cigarette tobacco or cigarette paper, or any substitute for either of them shall, on conviction, be fined not less than $10.00 nor more than $50.00 and may also be imprisoned in the county jail or sentenced to hard labor for the county for not more than 30 days."
Basically, this is an unscheduled misdemeanor offense. The sanction is a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $500 and the court may impose a jail sentence of up to 30 days.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline