I was pulled over for driving without a license. My license had been suspended in another state and I had already done everything necessary to have it reinstated except going to the MA RMV and talk to a hearings officer. The next day I went to the RMV and was able to get it reinstated. I'm wondering if I should plea guilty or not guilty and wondering what the worst case scenario would be if I plead guilty.
It sounds like you are dealing with an operating after a suspended license. It carries a maximum jail sentence of 10 days plus a possible fine of $500 to $1000. We cannot give advice here but there are all sorts of ways an attorney could help you resolve this matter without having to plead guilty. There are other resolutions, including a possible dismissal depending on the circumstances, which court you're in, etc.
Actually if this is a first offense meaning you have never taken a continuance without a finding on another oas charge or a guilty then the maximum penalty is a $500 fine. You can get up to 10 days jail if you have a prior offense with a plea. If this is a first you can likely get it dismissed by showing your reinstated license on minor court costs. You may even be able to get it dismissed prior to arraignment. However that would be much easier to accomplish with an attorney than without.
By answering this question I am not forming an attorney client relationship and this answer pertains only to the law as it currently stands in Massachusetts where I am licensed to practice.
If you have reinstated your license since you were pulled over, it may be possible to have the charges simply dismissed by explaining the situation to the court. There is no need to "plead guilty."
I am a Massachusetts attorney and answer questions based on Massachusetts law. The above answer is for educational purposes only and does not create an attorney client relationship or constitute legal advice.
This is certainly dependent on how many times this has happened before and perhaps a few other facts that you should disclose privately with an attorney. However, in many cases a first time suspended license charge that can be shown to be due to a misunderstanding can often be dismissed as long as you show your reinstated license and that you have done what is necessary to rectify the situation. Many people have their birthdays go by and thereby their license expires and they are not even aware, so it is a very common problem in general- seek counsel though or consult someone on here or elsewhere privately.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline