I was involved in a fender bender. Both drivers stopped and agreed no damage was done and we both left the scene. Days later I get a ticket in the mail saying I have to go to court for leaving the scene of an accident.
Assuming no injuries the penalties for a first offense is 200 to 400 fine, 6 months loss of your driver's license and up to 30 days in jail and 2pts. Unfortunately you and the other driver can't agree to just not report an accident by law you must report it. However if you get yourself a good lawyer most of these penalties can be avoided and if you're lucky you will just end up with a fine. Judges take this ticket very seriously so again you need to get yourself a good lawyer.
If you think this answer helped you, please mark it as best answer. This answer is not intended to give legal advice or establish an attorney client relationship and is offered for general educational purposes only. NO INFORMATION GIVEN HERE IS TO BE RELIED UPON for any legal matter as this information may contain inaccurate information for your particular case.
Mr. Aalsberg's answer was right on the money. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a good lawyer may be able to beat the charge or have it amended to a lesser, no-point offense. Good luck.
Leaving the scene of an accident is one of the more serious traffic offenses in the state of New Jersey. There are many factors that are taken into account when a prosecutor decides whether to downgrade a charge like this. If you hire an experienced attorney, I believe that you will increase your likelihood of getting a much better result. Best of luck
The question is who filed the charge. If the cops were not called who called them. Information was exchanged and no damage means no charge. You can file against the other person for 30 days but first find out who filed the charge. Best through an attorney. It could be serious charges but it could be dismissed as well.
The penalties are severe. Call an attorney.
This information is presented as a public service. It should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor considered to be the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. I am licensed in New Jersey and my answers are based upon the law in that jurisdictions. My answer to any specific question would likely be different if I were to review a client's file and have the opportunity to interview the client. Accordingly, I strongly urge you to retain an attorney in your jurisdiction with respect to any legal matter.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline