What is the age required to buy a pistol in Tennessee?
2 attorney answers
An individual 21 years of age or older may acquire a handgun from a dealer federally licensed to sell firearms in the individual's state of residence.
An individual 18 years of age or older may purchase a rifle or shotgun from a federally licensed dealer in any state. However, the applicant may not purchase a pistol gripped long gun that does not have a shoulder stock until he or she is 21 years of age.
Federal law restricts the sale of handguns to those under 21 but it appears that the law only restricts licensed firearms dealers. A review of laws seems to indicate that someone at least 18 can purchase a handgun but only from a private seller, not a licensed gun dealer. I suggest you confirm this with the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation or ATF before making such a purchase.
Nothing in this communication should be construed as creating an attorney-client relationship. I provide this service for educational purposes only. I will take no action on your behalf unless you have hired me and a written retainer agreement is signed. I am licensed only in Tennessee and I strongly suggest you consult with an attorney in your city and state as Statute of Limitation deadlines can limit your recovery.
In Tennessee, and per federal guidelines, you may possess a handgun at 18 and an unlicensed person may sell you a handgun at 18. Federal law does not allow the sale of handguns by a licensed person to anyone under the age of 21. Tennessee only issues carry permits to persons 21 or over. I added a few links for you to look at regarding the gun laws.