My 20 yr old son stole $2000 from a family friend. First time offense. If they choose to press charges, what might he be looking at?
Theft of $2,000 is a Level 6 felony. The punishment for a Level 6 felony is a sentence of six months to 2 1/2 years, and/or a fine of up to $10,000. If this is a first offense, and your son makes restitution, there is a good chance he could be given a suspended sentence and probation.
I'm licensed to practice law only in Indiana, and we've never met, so I can't give you "legal" advice. My answer is simply "friendly" advice based on my experience as an attorney in Indiana, my knowledge of federal and common law, and common sense. Even if you are in Indiana, employment law questions are very fact specific, and based on the limited information you provided in your post, I can't give you legal advice, and my answer is intended as general information only. It doesn't create an attorney-client relationship.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline