I got a "North Carolina Uniform Citation" stating "operating a motor vehicle on a street or highway at a speed of 54 MPH in a 35 MPH zone G.S 20-141(J1)" It doesn't say reckless driving anywhere. And the police officer didn't tell me anything except I could go to court or follow the waiver instructions. It was only upon googling I discovered this is a misdemeanor offense! My first ticket ever was in July this year, just 3 months before this one. That was a speeding ticket I got reduced to 9mph over. Will I get my license suspended/jail time/hefty fines? Do I need to hire a lawyer?
A lot of what will happen depends on if you’re licensed in NC or another state. When you mentioned you weren’t also charged with reckless driving it made me wonder if you might be a Virginia driver since in VA a charge of 19 over pretty much automatically gets a reckless charge too. I recommend lawyering up and never taking any “legal “advice from a cop. They didn't go to law school and nobody gives lawyers free guns , free range time or free ammunition....
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline