Hire a lawyer to go with you to Markham. Your ticket will probably cost you around $200 plus court costs. A lawyer might be able to help reduce the damage to your wallet and your driving record.
You need to hire a criminal defense attorney in your area to represent you. 23 mph over the limit in a school zone is more serious than a speeding ticket on the highway. It carries a fine and court costs, and a conviction could impact your auto insurance rates. Get a lawyer to direct you.
I am trying to give you a general answer to your question. We do not have an attorney-client relationship by this response on the avvo website. I have not been retained to represent you. I am licensed to practice law in Kentucky and in federal court in this state and the Southern District of Indiana. You need to seek legal advice from an attorney licensed to practice in your area..
A first offense for speeding in a school zone carries a minimum $150 fine (plus $50 toward the school district) AND mandatory court costs. You cannot receive supervision for this offense, only a conviction if you plead guilty or you are found guilty after trial. Your best bet is to speak with an attorney, many of us offer free consultations. It may be possible to work out an amendment to the charge to avoid the minimum mandatory penalties and keep the offense off of your record. In a situation like this, FOR EXAMPLE, it may be possible for an attorney to work out an agreement to amend the speeding in a school zone ticket to a standard petty speeding offense (with supervision rather than a conviction) and have the seat belt ticket dismissed. More information is available at the links below.
The information contained in this answer is offered for informational purposes only. This information does not constitute legal advice, attorney advertising, or establish an attorney-client relationship. Individuals with questions in any area of the law should consult a qualified attorney licensed to practice in that individual's jurisdiction.
Feel free to contact my office monday morning to get a free consultation. We can discuss options at that time. It's possible to get a plea agreement with the state since it's your first offense.
Office number: 708-400-8000.