3yrs ago I was hit with a felony possession, dui, and paraphernalia, Weber Co ut. I claimed the car's contraband, to let the a lying love not get the brunt of charges. 60 days in jail. no contest to dist court=3 years probation, $2000 fines... contacted probation over a year fine is not close to -0 got ill. hardware removal and abscess 5 year prior surgery had all along. still not completed rehab, im addicted. not in the state since i was taken, from crack house to ER. issues Bigtyme. aided by savior who took me to hospital. 2 months later ER surgery removed screws, abscess, from rotator cuff and 60 days of anthrax antibiotics. still not able to lift 5 lbs. not able to raise elbow away from body to wash armpit. We were moving 1000 miles and after walking out of jail is the only thing i have prior to dui. heirlooms, cultural artifacts, wallet, phone, $1500 computer, are poof gone. $5000 brother's $$ for my bail, squandered, and all $10000 tools. sold for a drop shot for saying i gave AIDS before dui. I talked last in july 2013 and no contact, or means to get face 2face words or flat out rage for the lies since going to hell 2012. Im going to sue but time limited?
Yes, it may be possible to reduce a felony after probation has been completed. In Utah, we have a section of the law (section 402) that allows a judge to order the degree of an offense to be reduced. With the cooperation of the judge and maybe the prosecutor, it could be reduced to a lesser charge. I am having difficulty understanding the rest of your question so I won't be able to respond to that.
Every answer is based on the facts given. Additional information or facts could change the answer. This answer does not create an attorney-client relationship.
I don't understand most of what you posted, but if you have successfully completed your probation and the crime is not a sex crime or violent in nature, you can reduce it to a misdemeanor. Contact a criminal defense attorney in your area.
Although Utah has since reduced many drug possession offenses to misdemeanors for first time offenders, it doesn't automatically apply to people who were convicted for felony possession before the change in the law took place. The changes to the law are not retroactive, meaning that if you were convicted of a felony possession charge in the past, you still have a felony conviction even though it would only be a misdemeanor if you were charged and convicted under the new law today.
With that said, Utah law does allow for a reduction in the degree of your conviction if you meet the requirements for reduction under Utah Code 76-3-402. If you successfully completed probation, and have been off of probation for a long enough time period, you may be eligible to have your conviction reduced from a third degree felony to a class A misdemeanor.
Additionally, with the prosecutor's written agreement, you MAY be able to reduce it two levels, from a third degree felony, to a class B misdemeanor. It would be worth your while to consult an attorney. Regarding the rest of your question, lawsuits generally carry statutes of limitation (a statutorily defined period of time that limits the amount of time you have to file a civil (non-criminal) suit). It would also be worth while to consult an attorney regarding any civil suits you wish to file, and applicable statutes of limitation.
Years licensed, work experience, educationLegal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awardsLegal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagementsDiscipline